Sunday: I wish it was a sun day.

Alas, no.  We are overcast and cold: 21 F (or -6 C, if you prefer).  However, it is supposed to warm up to the 40s and create a lot of fog as the snow melts off.  And then tonight, rain.

Will this curtail the plans of the plucky ImpossibleA?  Not at all!

To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.  –Joseph Chilton Pearce

A few months ago, I ran across a mention of “recycling sweaters.”  So I searched the web for directions on how to recycle yarn out of thrift-store sweaters (or even sweaters you own but don’t like wearing).  You can find information and tutorials here and here and here.

I found two incredible wool sweaters at Goodwill.  One is a khaki marl–the main thread is deep green khaki and a strands of cream and celery wrap around it.  The other is a dove grey that has never been worn!

Well, I finally got the nerve to snip into the green.  The original sweater was absolutely ghastly, but the yarn said:  Hey, I’m sturdy and warm!  Knit me into socks.  Because the yarn is a fingering weight yarn, the whole sweater took eons to unravel.  [Tip:  Have a friend or loved one help to save time.]  I now have enough yarn to knit at least two or three pair of long socks.

I also decided to learn two new things:  how to knit two socks at one time and how to knit socks from the cuff down.  I figured that if I muck up the socks in the recycled sweater yarn, I can call it a learning curve; a failed sock using good wool would be a disaster.  So, remember, $2.00 recycled wool sweater yarn is infinitely better than $23.00 hand-painted wool yarn.

Knitting from the cuff down seems to be the most popular method; a majority of patterns use this construction technique.  I know how to knit socks already, but I’ve knit them all toe up so I can try them on as I go to see how the pattern fits.  So since I have several cuff-down patterns I would like to try, I need to learn how this works.

I chose a plain jane pattern for my first cuff down sock:  Drops Design 122-19.  I also have been watching the construction techniques in Kelley’s Sock Class videos at KnitPicks.  I’m knitting on size 1 needles (2.5 mm) and only using one circular instead of two.

Being a slower knitter, learning two new things at one time doesn’t make the process quick.  The great part:  I am finding that the two at a time method is beneficial to those of us with second sock syndrome.  It also cuts down on any mismatches in a pattern–when you begin a pattern on one sock, you know exactly where to begin on the second!  [I was always worried about doing plain socks one at a time:  what if one was shorter than the other?]  The downside:  I’m not really digging the one circular gig–too much push-me pull-you with the cord and needles.  It isn’t a smooth continuous process which cuts down on the joy of mindless knitting.

[On a separate note, I absolutely LOVE these Addi lace needles!  They are sharp and the joins are so smooth.  I can’t recommend them highly enough.]

Leave a Reply

