Sleeps with the fishes…er, books

Have you ever fallen asleep while reading and then experienced page and cover lines pressed into your flesh?

 

Welcome to my world.

 

I keep a multitude of books and journals.  Most of the books are things I am currently reading and sometimes several of them end up in my bed (due to literary ADD or research).  When I fall asleep with them in my bed it is inevitable that I will wake up with book-face.  It isn’t a pretty look.

The most recent to-be-read stack on my nightstand now:

  • Far from the Maddening Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  • Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott
  • The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
  • Sensational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch
  • Sock Innovation:  Knitting Techniques and Patterns for One-of-a-Kind Socks by Cookie A.
  • The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
  • The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
  • A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
  • Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

What did I fall asleep with?  Rothfuss’ giant brick of a second novel–which is awesome by the way.  But it has hard pointy edges!

In my current audiobook queue (for when I am on the computer or in the kitchen or knitting or doing whatever within earshot):

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Dragon Reborn by Robert Jordan
  • The Shadow Rising by Robert Jordan
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling  (re-read)

Sometimes when I am feeling snerty and too out of sorts to read or listen to an entire novel, I web over to PodCastle for an audio podcast of short fantasy stories by different authors.  Here are a few I enjoyed last year:

Blood Willows by Caroline M. Yoachim
The Transfiguration of Maria Luisa Ortega by E. Lily Yu
Sinners, Saints, Dragons, and Haints, In the City Under the Still Waters by N.K. Jemisin

What am I doing right now?  I am listening to Jim Dale read The Night Circus.  Enchanting.

Leave a Reply

