Heel flaps

Update.

I’m an idiot.  Ok, well, maybe not an idiot–but definitely a novice at reading patterns.  I gave up on the pattern I was using from DROPS Design for these socks.  I got confused when I hit the heel.

So what did I do?

I went, as any clueless person might, to YouTube.  I watched a bunch of heel flap advice videos, but the best (for me) was still Kelly Petkun from Knit Picks. She walked through the whole thing step by step and provided handy little tips and tricks.

Eureka!

Since the whole sock is just a plain jane stockinette stitch, I chose to do a slip-stitch heel to give a bit of texture.  These socks are not going to be the prettiest socks in the drawer, but they will be warm and functional–and that is all that matters.

I’m still glacially slow, but I’m pretty confident I will get to turn the heels this weekend!  [Barring any grading tragedies or heaps of procrastination, of course.]

Leave a Reply

