YA is more fun now that I am older

Ok.  Today I have done a significant amount of nothing.  Task #1 accomplished!

I have no idea what is in the local water, but everything went nuts last night.  A racoon got chased up our fence by something and it hurtled itself off the fence so fast it hit the side of the house with a great hairy WHUMP.  [I know because I went outside to see what happened and the silly thing was running hell for leather across the front yard].  About an hour later, I heard a series of six gunshots in quick succession–handgun not hunting rifle.  I live in a neighborhood on the edge of civilization and farm fields…so that is NOT a common sound.  Although, if someone found that nutcase racoon, I can understand.  And, first thing this morning, the power blows out for two minutes for no logical reason at all.  It’s a waning gibbous moon, folks, not a full one.

I spent last evening reading Tithe and today reading Ironside both by Holly Black.  To be honest, I don’t remember reading a ton of YA growing up.  Or maybe what YA is today wasn’t the same as back then.  I know I read L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables series.  I read Little Women and Little Men (Alcott) and Jane Eyre (C. Bronte) when I was twelve.  But at this time I was also reading Poe and Stephen King and Stendhal.  Not too much after that I was obsessed with Dostoyevsky and Tolstoy.  So, I don’t really remember my transition books from childhood to adult reading.  I know there had to be some, but they just do not stick in my mind.

So now I am taking the time to explore the YA genre when the book looks interesting.  I enjoyed Black’s Valiant a few years back and so I thought I’d tackle the books on either side (it was a series).  And, I loved it!  Yay!

I also finished The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente.  Spectacular!

Leave a Reply

