Asking too many questions

My favorite question in the world is “Why?”  It drove my parents and my teachers absolutely crazy, but the simple truth is that there has to be a reason behind everything (at least from my viewpoint).

Curiosity can take us places that maybe no one has ever been.  It can lead us to new possibilities.  It can lead us to new connections.

Today, I was watching this video–which is a 2 min introduction to two other videos–but it brought up the idea of asking questions we don’t have answers for.  I really liked that.

And then I started thinking about John Scalzi’s Big Idea posts where authors can discuss the moment of inspiration for their book.  All of the writers have interesting and funny things to say, but many discuss stringing together sentences of possibilities that begin with the phrase “What if….”

Though my grandmother often warned me about curiosity killing the cat, I can’t help asking questions.  What will humans evolve into?  Why are people more prone to dislike that which is different?  Would I survive in a post catastrophe world?

Even if my questions have no real answer, can’t I just make one up?  After all, I am a writer.  Wouldn’t it be cool if my fictitious potential solutions led to actual solutions?  Don’t scientists and engineers sometimes pinch ideas from writers?

So go on–ask any question you want.  And find your answer…even if you have to make it up!

Leave a Reply

