The Classics Club

Jillian over on A Room of One’s Own started a Classics Club where you post a list of classic books you want to read in a varaible time span of up to five years.

Since this is the Ides of March, I thought it a sign to join now.  Hopefully, my ambition to complete this project will not end with tragedy…

My finish dateMarch 15, 2015 (three years from today!)

Books (currently 75)

  1. Jane Austen:  Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility*, Emma, Persuasion*, Mansfield Park, Northanger Abbey
  2. Honoré de Balzac:  The Black Sheep, Père Goriot, A Harlot High and Low
  3. William Blake:  A Marriage of Heaven and Hell, Songs of Innocence and of Experience
  4. The Brontë sisters:  Agnes Grey, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, Villette, Jane Eyre*, Wuthering Heights
  5. Anton Chekhov:  The Cherry Orchard, Uncle Vanya
  6. Daniel Defoe:  Robinson Crusoe, Moll Flanders
  7. Charles Dickens:  A Tale of Two Cities, Oliver Twist, Great Expectations, David Copperfield, Bleak House, Nicholas Nickleby, Martin Chuzzlewit
  8. Alexandre Dumas:  The Count of Monte Cristo, The Man in the Iron Mask, The Three Musketeers, The Black Tulip, Queen Margot
  9. George Eliot:  The Mill on the Floss, Middlemarch, Adam Bede, Daniel Deronda, Silas Marner
  10. Gustave Flaubert:  Madame Bovary
  11. Thomas Hardy:  Far From the Madding Crowd, Tess of the D’Urbervilles, The Mayor of Casterbridge
  12. St. Augustine:  Confessions
  13. Homer:  The Iliad, The Odyssey
  14. Victor Hugo:  Les Misérables, The Hunchback of Notre Dame
  15. Henry James:  The Princess Casamassima
  16. D.H. Lawrence:  Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow, Lady Chatterley’s Lover, Women in Love
  17. John Milton:  Paradise Lost
  18. Molière:  Tartuffe, The Misanthrope
  19. Michel de Montaigne:  The Complete Essays
  20. Marcel Proust:  Swann’s Way
  21. Samuel Richardson:  Pamela, Clarissa
  22. Edmond Rostand:  Cyrano de Bergerac
  23. Sir Walter Scott:  Waverley*, Ivanhoe, The Bride of Lammermoor
  24. George Bernard Shaw:  Pygmalion
  25. Stendhal:  The Red and the Black, The Charterhouse of Parma
  26. Robert Louis Stevenson:  Treasure Island, Kidnapped, The Black Arrow, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  27. Jonathan Swift:  Gulliver’s Travels
  28. Virgil:  The Aeneid
  29. Voltaire:  Candide
  30. Virginia Woolf:  A Room of One’s Own, Mrs. Dalloway, Orlando

That is a total of 75 books from 32 authors (I bunched the Brontës into one set for this list).  I’ve read bits and pieces of many of these books over the years, but I only marked fully read books that I wish to re-read with an asterisk (*).

I’m sure this list will change over time and I’ll update it as I go.

11 thoughts on “The Classics Club

  1. Jillian ♣

    So many great titles! A Room of One’s Own! A Tale of Two Cities! Montaigne! Les Misérables! Sense & Sensibility!! Villette!!!

    Enjoy. 🙂

    1. I always want novels to be great, but not all are and I wonder how they make it into any lit course syllabus. However, I will give all authors a fair shake in this project. I figure that if an author is dreadful across their works–meaning I can’t make it through multiple books–then I can be fairly guilt-free at not reading them before now.

      [For example, I have NO GUILT in not reading Herman Melville. We despise each other!]

  2. Great list! I’m impressed with how much range you’ve got there. I, too, will be reading lots of Dickens for the Classics Club. I’ve really enjoyed him so far, I just hope it continues. 🙂

    1. I’ve done my James Joyce purgatory and never intend to go back. It wasn’t like my run-ins with Melville where I’d rather jab a fork in my eye and burn every Melville I see, but rather an unpleasant ennui that clings long after I put the book down. So, no. No more Joyce for me.

Leave a Reply

