I’m a classics slacker!

Ok.  I was supposed to be digging in to Hardy’s Far from the Madding Crowd yesterday and today.

I did not.

I got sucked into Peter V. Brett’s The Warded Man on audiobook!  And damned if I was going to shut it off to either read Hardy or work on my syllabus.  Some days require fun.

[Who knows what I’ll get up to when I have to slog through Clarissa next month!]

Now the novel is over (until the sequel comes on Tuesday).  And, while Hardy seems a much more lively option to revising and restructuring my syllabus, the syllabus is more pressing.

To amuse yourselves, imagine me hunched over the keyboard determining grammar exercises and writing assignments and doom.  With a snoring cat on my lap.  And maybe a beer.  Yeah, let’s go with that.

3 thoughts on “I’m a classics slacker!

  1. I like your ambitious plan to get through the classics. I’m taking it a bit slower. Just slogged through two I’d never read before: Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises and Huxley’s Brave New World.

    Very different reads. Not sure where I’m going next. Like I said, I’m taking it slow.

    1. While I can appreciate Hemmingway’s writing style, I don’t particularly like his work. It does read well out loud, though. However, I have never read Huxley. Was it good?

      Reading is always worth the effort–whether you take it slow or not. 🙂

      1. You have to admire Huxley foresight, writing about cloning and super sonic travel and scientific control by the State back in 1931. I’m not a big Sci-Fi person, it holds up remarkable well to our own world of today. Even down to the well-to-do upper class taking a drug called Soma that makes them feel happy, content, and accept whatever the State tells them. The dialogue and characters are not great, but I can see why it made such an impression right before World War II.

        All I had ever read of Hemingway was Old Man and the Sea. I wanted to read something of his with some dialogue and plot. I thought I’d like it better than I did. He really may be one of the all-time overrated authors.

Leave a Reply

