Break Hodgepodge

I took a small break–only two days.  Sometimes I need to reconnect with things that make me happy!

1.  Korean TV.  A year or so ago I stumbled across a few Korean shows on Hulu and since then I enjoy watching them–subtitles and all.  I particularly enjoy the romantic comedies.  Why do I like them?  They allow themselves to be silly.  These shows only last for a set number of episodes (usually 16 or 20); the story arc moves from A to Z in that time and there are NO cliff-hangers or “wait until next season” kinds of endings.  I’m guessing this kind of format appeals to my short attention span!  Currently I am sucked into Secret Agent Miss Oh.

2.  Calligraphy and Illuminated Manuscripts.  I look at illuminated manuscripts all the time because I find them intensely fascinating as pieces of art.  I bought a set of fountain pen nibs a few years ago and have been playing with them to write in my journal.  I also have quite a lovely black and white blown glass dip pen.  But I have been wanting to try my hand at actual calligraphy.  So, yesterday I picked up a Speedball #5 Artist set (nibs C0, C2, C4, B1, B3, B5, 102, 56, and 513EF) and some Higgins ink.  Wish me luck!

***dramatic pause for the knock at the front door***

OOH!  My books from Amazon arrived today!  Now I have my very own copy of Clarissa (and therefore have no excuse for failure to read it).  I also have a copy of Tis Pity She’s a Whore and Other Plays by John Ford from Oxford UP.

Ok.  I lost my train of thought since I was so pleasantly interrupted to take delivery of my book goodies…

To make up for it, I thought I would leave you with a kickass performance by Juliet Simms on The Voice.  She is everything that has been missing in rock music for a damned long time…!

Leave a Reply

