Desparately seeking time management skills…

Good grief.  I am dismal about dividing my time into rational chunks!  My life is spent between other stuff and the frantic meeting of deadlines; it is hardly the best way to be productive.

I would like to be one of those people who are methodical and organized and have X number of things completed every day.  But I am not.  I have to-do lists and sticky note reminders and planners.  I always have the idea that I will divide and conquer my tasks by breaking them down to manageable bits, but it never seems to happen.  What’s a girl to do?

It is again Friday and I have squat-all to show for it.

Somewhere in a coil not too far above my lizard brain, I think my upbringing made me equate time management with being a good person.  And not being sufficiently acquainted with time management skills makes me a bad person, a failed person.  This little learning pattern follows me around each time I find myself rushing to meet a deadline–like the one I have tomorrow.  It makes me agitated and I find it difficult to sit still and concentrate for long periods of time.

Does this encourage me to enhance my time management skills?  No.

Do I secretly like punishing myself for failure?  I don’t know.  I’ve heard it said that we repeat patterns over and over because we get some “kick” out of having the experience.  I’ve also heard it said that we repeat the pattern over and over because we haven’t learned the lesson yet.  Which is it?  I don’t know.

Anyway, I should get back to grading papers.  The distraction of blogging has helped me re-focus.

On the bright side:  Today is Friday the 13th!

Leave a Reply

