Since July is a bit light on classics…

I confess that I am a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of reader.  One thing appeals to me on Tuesday and then, by Thursday, I am off with something else.  All airy-fairy; but even though it looks random and unrelated, it does follow the strange logic of my internal being.  I’m a Luna Lovegood.

My July reading is filled with one book on my classics list (Stendhal’s The Red and the Black) and everything else is modern fiction:

1.  Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness.  The book comes out on July 10th.  I’ve been anticipating this since reading the first book in the All Souls Trilogy last fall:  A Discovery of Witches.  While this may not be considered high art or even a literary standard, nevertheless I enjoyed the book.  It was fun and appealed to my inner academic–Harkness is a history prof at U of Southern California.

2.  Redshirts by John Scalzi.  Ok.  Seriously.  How could I pass this up?  My geeky self is doing a happy dance after discovering it will be in my hands tomorrow!

3.  Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter.  I wanted to tackle this after reading commentary by a former prof who said her hubby (also a former prof) laughed the whole way through the book.  I’m not sure I will get to this one in July as I am 6th in line for it in the library hold queue…more likely September.

However, there is an Austen in August being hosted by Adam over at Roof Beam Reader.  And, like the pantser I am, I hopped on board.  I’m going to stick to actual Austen novels rather than biographies or modern Austen-associatied works because I need to knock a few books of my TBR Classics Club list!  The two works chosen:  Northanger Abbey and Pride and Prejudice.  I’ve never read NA and never completed P&P so this should be a wonderful opportunity to rectify my former literary failings.

Go check it out!  Who could go wrong with an Austen novel in hand?

7 thoughts on “Since July is a bit light on classics…

  1. Woo hoo! Glad you’re officially on boad! I love, love, love Northanger Abbey – even though it’s Austen’s roughest novel (being her first), I also find it to be her most bold and her funniest. Hope you enjoy it! I loved P&P, too – more than I thought I would.

    I’m going after Austen’s primary texts, too – though some of the other material listed so far do sound interesting… still, I think I’ll aim for Sense & Sensibility, Emma, and then either Persuasion or Mansfield Park (if there’s time).

    1. I am glad to hear that NA will be an interesting read! Few of my friends have tackled it–either for a class or by choice. I hope I find it as wonderful as you did.

      I’d like to be able to get to at least three Austen books in August, too, but I won’t hold my breath. 🙂

  2. Jillian ♣

    I’m a pantser too. 🙂 Yay for Austen! Also, I love that so many of you are Classics Clubbing with me. It helpos me to focus, to see you focus.

    (I love Northanger Abbey! I read it after The Musteries of Udolpho to get the full effect.) 😉

Leave a Reply

