Austen in August begins today!

Well, as you all know, my blogging in July crashed and burned.  I took time away from the internet to spend those hot days doing absolutely as little as possible.  I’ll call it my brain-vacation.  Part of my blogging apathy happened because I wasn’t writing (not by choice) and part of it was from this nasty summer weather.  It was dead dry here…lawns burned and trees losing leaves (seriously, it looked like fall in the yards of several houses–but without the pretty colors)…and then we finally got five inches of rain within the span of three days.  Although lawns are beginning to grow again, I don’t think it will help the gardens or crops much.  My tomato plants are huge, but I’ve only got one tiny green tomato growing on a single plant, my peppers have produced all of three (and the plants are dinky).  And my non-existant morning glories have just started vining.  I’m guessing I’ll have a very late garden…let’s hope we’ll get an Indian Summer through October.

Did I at least read?  Ummm…not really.  I made it through two books:  Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness and Redshirts by John Scalzi.  Loved them both, but they didn’t get me anywhere near Stendhal’s The Red and the Black or Samuel Richardson’s Clarissa.

However, today marks the beginning of Austen in August hosted at Roof Beam Reader.  And I decided to read Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey.  However, I was given the advice to read Ann Radcliffe’s The Mysteries of Udolpho before I tackle NA.  So, these are the books on my table for August…(and, they are all on my classics list!)

Won’t you join me?

2 thoughts on “Austen in August begins today!

  1. Oh, boy – good luck with The Mysteries of Udolpho! It’s a good book, but it’s very dense and overly descriptive. Doesn’t move very quickly (at least for me). I read Northanger Abbey first (knowing that it was a parody on Gothic literature) and it was perfectly funny! I’m starting with Sense and Sensibility.

Leave a Reply

