Planning the remainder of the reading year

Inspired by Tuesday’s Top 10 List over at The Broke and the Bookish, I began to think about what I wanted to tackle or finish this fall…but that is way more than just ten!  So, what do I currently have slated on my agenda?

September reading:  playing catch-up

  • Finish Northanger Abbey.  Yes, I am an Austen in August slacker.
  • Get through Austen’s Emma and Sense and Sensibility on audiobook.  Sometimes I spend too much time on a computer and don’t have the down-time to pick up a novel or my Kindle.  Since audiobooks are easy to listen to while I bang away at the keyboard, they are an easy default for my literary consumption.
  • Finish up In the Kingdom of Men by Kim Barnes.  Love it!  Spectacular images and beautifully written.
  • Finish up The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  I’ve got this on audiobook, but I can’t seem to make my way through it.  I am sure it is because of the narrator, Jim Dale, who also narrates the Harry Potter audiobooks.  My problem stems from the narrated voices:  some are too similar to those from HP; I get distracted thinking that I should be hearing an HP story.
  • Finish up my re-read of HP 4 and HP 5.  This is part of a project I began at the start of the year, but it seems that others have caught the Harry Potter bug recently and that has given me some inspiration to continue.

October reading:  the spooky!

Sometimes it is fun to read spooky things.  Ghosties and goblins and weird kinds of beasties!  Witches and murder and potions by the gallon!

I don’t know if I’ll manage all of them, but I’d like to get through at least three–as it will start ticking books from my Classics Club list.  [Although, in the case of the plays, it will just get me closer to finishing the compiled works.]

  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • Macbeth by Shakespeare
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Tragical History of the Life and Death of Dr. Faustus by Christopher Marlowe
  • The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

November reading:  Nanowrimo inspiration

Because I will be tackling the Nanowrimo in November, I need some strong inspiration for noveling like mad.

  • The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol 1 by Arthur Conan Doyle–I am sure I will only finish a handful of short stories out of here.
  • Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne
  • And, for fun, The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

December reading:  blowing off steam

After the anxiety and rush of finishing Nanowrimo, a bit of wild adventure in my literary pursuits will suit nicely.  It will let my brain relax and find some fun.

  • The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
  • Waverley by Sir Walter Scott
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Time Machine by HG Wells
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
Leave a Reply

