Plucking out a new path

With my current plan for The Classics Club, I should be making it through twenty five books per year for three years (ending March 15, 2015).  Right now that feels like a LOT–especially when there are more modern books that I also want to read.  So, I think I am going to push out my “due date” from three years to five.  It gives me a bit of breathing room.

  • New end date:  March 15, 2017
  • Goal:  15 classics from list per year

Am I on track for this first year?  Definitely.  I am just past the six month mark (September 15) and I have completed 8 novels: 4 Austen, 1 Hardy, 2 Montgomery, 1 Lawrence.  **I will have a 5th Austen finished by tomorrow to make 9 novels!**

What book do I feel compelled to complete in the first year?  Clarissa by Samuel Richardson.  I stopped reading it because it upset me; there was no available break to the tension.  I will pick it up and begin plugging back through soon–a set of goals will be required (and incentives!)

What would I like to read?  Austen’s Mansfield Park.  It will be my first read through of the novel and I’d like to have it completed by the end of 2012.  Completing all of Austen’s major works this year would make me feel like this project is actually accomplishing things I’ve never done before.

What am I anticipating in my plans?  Spooky novels this October and mysteries for my Nanowrimo November.

Leave a Reply

