Life in the way

Plans.  They all go awry at the last minute.

Due to a sudden convergence circumstances, my reading has gone off the rails:  even my finishing up Austen’s Sense and Sensibility and Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy hasn’t happened yet!  However, back at the beginning of September, I thought I could plot out the remainder of my reading for this year.  The October plan:

October reading:  the spooky!

Sometimes it is fun to read spooky things.  Ghosties and goblins and weird kinds of beasties!  Witches and murder and potions by the gallon!

I don’t know if I’ll manage all of them, but I’d like to get through at least three–as it will start ticking books from my Classics Club list.  [Although, in the case of the plays, it will just get me closer to finishing the compiled works.]

  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • Macbeth by Shakespeare
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Tragical History of the Life and Death of Dr. Faustus by Christopher Marlowe
  • The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
  • In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

Whether I manage to get through any of the books I planned to read remains to be seen.  I started Udolpho, but am in the middle of cleaning the house and rearranging for a housemate, handling a very old Great Dane who will probably need to be put down in the next few weeks, taking a mandatory faculty intensive workshop detailing new guidelines, plotting my Nanowrimo novel, and trying to get rid of a cold.  All in all this does not make for a promising month of reading!  Most of my spare time is spent on sleep.

I am hoping that the last weekend of the month and beyond will be much better for reading, but Nano starts that Thursday!  Can I manage to squeeze in a book or two in a spurt of reading madness?  Maybe I’ll sit at the end of the driveway in a comfy chair with my Kindle handing out Halloween candy…

4 thoughts on “Life in the way

Leave a Reply

