Joining RBR’s TBR Pile Challenge 2013!

Over at Roof Beam Reader, the To-Be-Read Pile Challenge for 2013 has been posted!  Adam will be hosting the project for the year and, if you slog through your 12 chosen books and post an “I’m done” comment, you will be eligible for a $50 gift certificate to Amazon or The Book Depository.

I’ve been flapping around for a few hours trying to limit my choices down to twelve and two alternates!  It is all well and good to continually add books to my “to be read” list on Goodreads, but it is quite another to have to actually make solid choices that I will stick to.  [I think it is quite obvious by now that I am not really a follow-the-plan kind of girl!]  But I have done my best and I’ll just have to go from there…

My List for the 2013 Challenge

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (1985)
  2. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chambon (2000)
  3. The Hunger Games (the 3 book set) by Suzanne Collins (2008-2010)
  4. Pattern Recognition by William Gibson (2003)
  5. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (2003)
  6. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (1967)
  7. The Life of Pi by Yann Martel (2001)
  8. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (2003)
  9. Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson (1999)
  10. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray (1847)
  11. A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole (1980)
  12. A Scream Goes Through the House:  What Literature Teaches Us About Life by Arnold Weinstein (2003)

Alternates

  1. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides (2002)
  2. The Professor and the Madman:  A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester (1998)

This should at least make me begin to feel better about the unread books clogging up my shelves!

4 thoughts on “Joining RBR’s TBR Pile Challenge 2013!

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale! Vanity Fair! Middlesex! Such good ones… I enjoyed The Hunger Games, too. Kavalier & Clay, The Historian, and One Hundred Years of Solitude could have easily made my list…. looking forward to your reviews of those. Maybe I’ll get to those next year, even if they’re not on my challenge lists!

  2. Pingback: Plotting out the New Year « Allegraphy

Leave a Reply

