Counting up the reading year

I’ve been wretchedly lazy this year about reading, but I thought I’d take a look at what has been accomplished.

Breakdown

Total books:  40 (+1 that will be finished before the New Year)

Rereads:  17

Classification:

  • Classics from my list:  8
  • Scifi:  31
  • YA:  12

Total pages read:  18,676 + 759 = 19,435

Average book length:  474 pages

  • books above: 17
  • books below:  24
  • longest book:  The Shadow Rising (Wheel of Time #4) by Robert Jordan
  • shortest book:  Why Read? by Mark Edmundson

Books begun in 2012 and not yet completed:

  • Clarissa by Samuel Richardson
  • The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  • In the Kingdom of Men by Kim Barnes
  • A Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling
  • Letters by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Red and the Black by Stendhal
  • The Kingdom of Gods by N. K. Jemisin
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • A Scream Goes Through the House by Arnold Weinstein

Why were these books not completed?  Mostly the problem stems from sheer laziness on my part.    Two are not complete because I have a bee in my bonnet about them and am irritated with the writing and the content.  Two are not finished because I had to return the book to the library for another patron and have not checked it out again.

What am I most pleased about?  Nothing really.  I didn’t manage to get through all of Austen this year.  I can’t seem to finish Sense and Sensibility and I haven’t begun Mansfield Park.  I’m mad that my list for “not finished this year” is ten books long!  I am a bit grumbly about only finishing 41 novels…and 17 of those are re-reads!  Geez.  My 2012 was not a year for books.

What do I hope for 2013?  I really want to get on with my Classics Club list.  I am going to make a tentative goal to complete at least 30 classics next year.  No more waffling!

Leave a Reply

